Modern Wushu

The goal of this modern wushu event is to make it fair, fun and accessible to all competitors.
Therefore we will be transparent towards all coaches and competitors on how we categorize and judge this competition.


  • Changquan
  • Jianshu
  • Daoshu
  • Gunshu
  • Qiangshu
  • Nanquan
  • Nandao
  • Nangun

(Taiji is included as well, but organized in the Taiji area and judges by dedicated Taiji judges)

Age groups

  • 5 to 8 (group D)
  • 9 to 11 (group C)
  • 12 to 16 (group B)
  • 16+ (Group A)


Competitors can sign up for different forms, based on age:

GroupAgesAllowed forms
D5 to 8Elementary Forms (16, 18, 20, 32 Forms, Wu Bu Quan)
C9 to 11Elementary Forms (16, 18, 20, 32 Forms, Wu Bu Quan)
B12 to 16Intermediate or Compulsory
A16+Compulsory or Optional

Competitors are placed according to their age on January 1st this year (IOC standard).

If an athlete wants to compete in a higher age category, the coach may request this by contacting the head judge at

In summary, we will have all the usual categories and age groups when enough competitors sign up. Only if we don’t have enough competitors in a category, we will start combining empty handed forms, short weapons or long weapons or male and female, depending on which has the least impact on fair judging.

Judging Rules

We will judge according to the 2019 IWUF rules, with 1 head judge (Level A IWUF judge) and Group-A and Group-B category judges. This competition will not include Group-C (Nandu) judging.

Judging rules at the tournament